Sewanee loses close Homecoming game to Millsaps

Photos by Matt Hembree (C’20)

By Richard Pryor III

Executive Staff

In the closest game of the season, the Sewanee football team lost to the Millsaps Majors 33-30 during the Homecoming game on November 5. Millsaps struck out to an early 12-0 lead, with a passing touchdown and a pick-six from Tyrone Howard. Sewanee rebounded with a Michael Jacobs (C’19) field goal, but the lead at halftime was 19-10 with Taz Watson running in a touchdown for Millsaps and Sam Hearn (C’20) connecting with his brother Steven (C’17) for a touchdown.

While the Tigers had the first score of the second half (another Hearn-to-Hearn touchdown,) they were not able to tie the game and go for a win. Sewanee also scored on a Mikey Plancher (C’19) touchdown, and a pass from Sam Hearn to Allan Puri (C’20). The defensive leader of the game was Hayden Reece (C’17), with 11 total tackles.

This was the last home game for the seniors of the football team, including tight end Divine Maloney, tackle Pierre DuBois, guard Riley Malone, linebacker B.J. Addison, cornerback Kirk Murphy, safety/running back Montana Willis, linebacker Tony Dykes, and defensive end Alexander Parker.

The game also saw the announcement of this year’s Homecoming King and Queen. The 2016 Homecoming King is Fridien Tchoukoua (C’17), a Biochemistry major from Hyattsville, Maryland, who was sponsored by Phi Sigma Theta. The 2016 Homecoming Queen is Huguette Ciza (C’17), a Economics major from Chattanooga, Tennessee, who was sponsored by Gamma Sigma Phi. The runner-ups were Ian Wilkinson, sponsored by the Student Government Organization and Annie Blau sponsored by the Kappa Alpha Order.

The other nominees for King were Jay Douglass, sponsored by Alpha Delta Pi; Dylan Greer, sponsored by Alpha Delta Theta; Phillip Pride, sponsored by Alpha Tau Zeta; Brian Reiss, sponsored by Gamma Tau Upsilon; Joseph Alfred Motta, sponsored by Kappa Delta; Riley Malone, sponsored by Kappa Omega; Samuel Seawell, sponsored by Phi Kappa Epsilon; Tony Dykes, sponsored by Theta Kappa Phi; Spencer Hupp, sponsored by Theta Pi; and Armonte Butler, sponsored by the Order of the Gownsmen.

The other nominees for Queen were Sarah Tillman Reeves, sponsored by the Order of the Gownsmen; Evelyn Ahnrud, sponsored by the Student Government Association; Catherine Estes, sponsored by Alpha Tau Omega; Emily Newton, sponsored by Chi Psi; Katie Kelemen, sponsored by Delta Kappa Epsilon; Meaghan Gray, sponsored by Delta Tau Delta; Kasey Marshall, sponsored by Lambda Chi Alpha; Nikki Cox, sponsored by Omega Psi Phi; Sofie Stein-Montalvo, sponsored by the Phi Society of 1883; Martha Dinwiddie, sponsored by Phi Gamma Delta; Laura Katherine Crum, sponsored by Sigma Alpha Epsilon; and Jacqueline Watson, sponsored by Sigma Nu. Douglass and Marshall are juniors and Watson is a sophomore. The rest of the nominees were seniors.

The selection committee was Dean Hagi Bradley, Lay Chaplain Rob McAlister, Residential Life Office Coordinator Becca Yates, Michelle Howell from the Community Engagement Office, and two non-Greek students, Mark McAlister (C’17) and Lucas Crossland (C’17).